13 February 2017

Anil Gochhikar Bags Mr. Odisha Title in Bodybuilding.

Anil Gochhikar of Puri bagged Mr. Odisha title in the Senior State Bodybuilding Championship held at Nabarangpur on Sunday. As many as  225 bodybuilders from across 25 districts were participated in the meet, Anil excelled all of them to secure the title. The event was organised by district body building association with Odisha Body Building Association.

Nabarangpur MLA and Chairman of district planning committee Monohar Randhari, Dabugam MLA Bhujabala Majhi, BDO Gunanidhi Nayak, distributed the prizes to all winning participants.

Among others, BDO Gunanidhi Naik, district contractors association president Jagannath Mohapatra, miller association president Tapas Tripathy, Vice-chairman of Municipality Prahalad Tripathy, Socialactivist Jagannath Mohapatra, Pradeep Mishra, were present.

27 January 2017

Freedom Fighter & Social Worker Mohammed Bazi will turns into 100 on 28th Jan.

Freedom Fighter & Social worker #MohammedBazi Saheb of Nabarangpur who will turns into 100 on #28th January.💐Salute to the legendary🌹
Sri Mohammed Bazi is a social worker of repute, a Bhoodan worker and a freedom fighter. He was born at Nabarangpur on January 28th, 1917. He was influenced by the freedom fighters and left his school while he was a student of Class X at Jeypore. He is a bachelor and a vegetarian.

On the occasion of the visit of Pandit Neelakantha Das and Dibakar Patnaik to Nabarangpur in 1936, a large meeting was organized on behalf of congress. Md. Baji and Laxmi Chandra Dash together had organized the meeting. In this meeting Md. Baji also addressed the large gathering and impressed up on the audience not to allow the Britishers to do injustice. He exhorted the audience to fight against Bethi‘ and Gadam‘ and not to offer goat and chicken to the Police for their Lunch and Dinner.

After receiving training at Nuaput training centre on the principles and Philosophy of congress, be propagated these in the remote villages of Nabarangpur district. He along with his associate Raidhar Jani of Goudaguda were arrested by the Police and were taken to Dabugam Police Station. Md. Baji was kept in Nabarangpur Jail for Six months and after wards he was imprisoned for two and half years in Koraput Jail. He was again imprisoned along with Sadasiba Tripathy and Jagannath Tripathy in 1940 while they were observing individual Satyagraha.

After returning from Jail he established a Gandhi Ashram at Bijapur village in Jhorigam block. In 1953 he joined the Sarvodaya movement and concentrated in Bhodan movement. He will attained the age of 100 years in 28th January 2017

15 January 2017

Royal Club Nabarangpur to host T-20 Royal Cup Tournament.

The Royal club of Nabarangpur organising 9th All India T-20 Royal Cup Tournament from 22nd January to 29th at the College ground. As many as six teams participating from Maharastra, Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh,  Andhra Pradesh and New Delhi while six teams participating from Bhubaneswar, Berhampur, Jeypore, Malkangiri, Rayagada(JK Pur), and  host Nabarangpur team will play in the tournament. 

The final of the tournament will be held on 29th January at the Nabarangpur college ground informed the club in a press meet here on Sunday. The working president of Royal club A Sibaram Raju, secretary Saroj Kumar Patnaik, Joint Secretary Pradeep Kumar Patnaik, with other dignitaries of the club were present.  

14 January 2017

Felicitation ceremony of Asian Karate and Kick Boxing School held.

Nabarangpur: BASANT RATH.
The Asian Karate and kick boxing school, Nabarangpur organised felicitation ceremony at Binayak Nagar of Nabarangpur here on Friday.

The school conducted three-day long Belt grading test seminar and Kobudo Training Camp  with Chief Instructor of International Karate and Kobudo Uechi Ryu Karate-Do Kenyukai India, Shihan K V Manoharan, joined in the training camp.

On the conclusion of the events successful students and participants were awarded. In the prize distribution ceremony BSF Commandant V.K Kasana, was the chief guest while Vice-Chairperson of Municipality Prahalad Tripathy, Social activist Jagannath Mohapatra, Chief Instructor of Asian Karate and kick boxing school Sensei Sarat Kumar Rout, Secretary of School Tushar Kannti Khosla, Manoj Kumar Patnaik, were present.

Students of the school G Ritesh Aditya, Debadata Patnaik and Biswajit Patnaik, who were participated in All India Karate and Kubudo Championship held at Kannuar in Karala felicitated with Black belt. 

While a six year kid Sandip Rout, felicitated with Blue belt.  The successful participants of Inter-district body building competitions with ten students of women's college Nabarangpur who bagged University Champions trophy in sports,Kabadi and Kho Kho competitions were felicitated. The Techno Gurukul School of Nabarangpur town which newly introduced Karate courses was also awarded.  

13 January 2017

Parties gear up for panchayat polls In Nabarangpur.

Nabarangpur: BASANT RATH.
Even as the panchayat poll draws closer the political activities is gathering momentum in rural parts of Nabarangpur. This time election will be held for a total 189 gram panchayats, 188 panchayat samitis, 2227 ward members and 26 Zilla Parishad (ZP) zones of 10 blocks in the district including 20 newly formed panchayats.

A total 7,37,714 are eligible to exercise their franchise for the coming panchayat poll. Leaders belonging to ruling BJD and opposition Congress and BJP are trying their best to perform.

The leaders of three major political parties who have started strengthening their respective organizations to perform better in the panchayat poll.

While candidates can able to fight for the post of ZP member under the official symbol of different political parties there is no rule for candidate to contest election to the post of sarapanch and panchayat samiti member under official party symbol. 

But generally in order to strengthen their organisation at grass root level the political parties give support to their unofficial nominees for sarpanch and samiti member posts to strengthen their organisation.

Last time in 2012 panchayat poll ruling BJD bagged the post of Nabarangpur Zilla Parishad president by capturing as many as 19 ZP zones out of total 26 ZP zones while main opposition congress able to hold seven ZP zone. 

Besides BJD backed candidates had also retained the post of chairman/Chairperson posts of all the 8 blocks out of 10 blocks while  congress able to retain in  two.
In 2014 general election while BJD was victorious in three assembly segments congress had won only in Dabugam assembly segment.

Balakrishna Rao of Nabarangpur appointed as Local Manager for 2nd ODI.

Nabarangpur: BASANT RATH.
Balakrishna Rao, working under Deputy Director of Horticulture, Nabarangpur has been appointed as local manager for the upcoming India-England second one day International cricket match at Barabati Stadium  which is scheduled to be held on 19th January, this was intimidated by the Chief Executive Officer of OCA vide letter no 2017/17.

Earlier Mr. Rao appointed and effectively worked as local manager for teams of Australia, England, Srilanka, West Indies and for teams of Australia and England in the Women’s Cricket World Cup and IPL matches.  For this nomination Mr. Rao gave his gratitude to the Odisha Cricket Association.

In the meanwhile Commerce and Transport Minister Ramesh Chandra Majhi, Chairperson of District Planning Committee & Nabarangpur MLA Monohar Randhari, Member of State Transport Authority Pramod Padhy, Secretary of District Bar Association Rama Prasad Patro, President of  District Odisha Union of Journalist  Susant Kumar Behera, Odisha Sahitya Akademi member Bulu Hota, with many clubs, associations and sports personalities greets for the prestigious assignment.